The Beast With Seven Heads

In this series we discover the meaning of the heads and the horns rising as a great beast out of the sea, we uncover the meaning of the Mark of The Beast and the number of 666. We also discover what happens when we die and many other misunderstood prophesies and meanings in the bible. This is the most exhaustive explanation in one website that you will ever see. Read on to discover The Beast of the Sea!


The fantastical beast in Revelations is a symbolic dream-vision image. It refers to a specific age of the Roman empire.

Rev 13:1 And I stood upon the sand of the sea, and saw a beast rise up out of the sea, having seven heads and ten horns, and upon his horns ten crowns, and upon his heads the name of blasphemy.

In this section we discover the meaning of the heads and the horns rising as a great beast out of the sea, we uncover the meaning of the Mark of The Beast and the number of 666.


To solve the puzzle we begin with Revelation chapter 17, verses 9-13. Revelation tells us The seven heads are seven mountains on which the woman sitteth.

The seven mountains, or seven hills, as everyone knew, was the city of seven hills on which Rome was built. The Heads, or kings of Rome, which also number seven in this revelation are doubly referred to as mountains as well.

The two clues above are double meanings. The wise person could work out that the seven mountains meant, 1. The seven hills of Rome and 2. Seven Roman kings. In ver.10 John goes on to tell us exactly which Roman emperors they are. Let us now properly translate verses 9-13, using the bible and history:

Rev 17:9 And here is the mind which hath wisdom. The seven heads are seven mountains, on which the woman sitteth.

Rev 17:10 And there are seven kings: five are fallen, and one is, and the other is not yet come; and when he cometh, he must continue a short space.

Rev 17:11 And the beast that was, and is not, even he is the eighth, and is of the seven, and goeth into perdition.

Rev 17:12 And the ten horns which thou sawest are ten kings, which have received no kingdom as yet; but receive power as kings one hour with the beast.

Rev 17:13 These have one mind, and shall give their power and strength unto the beast.

IN VERSE 9: The seven mountains as we just discussed clearly reference the City of Rome. The mountains are also said to represent seven heads. In the bible heads and mountains both represent kings and kingdoms. Who is the woman?

VERSE 18: Again tells us the woman is Rome: Rev 17:18 And the woman which thou sawest is that great city, which reigneth over the kings of the earth. [‘the earth’ refers to Israel, or sometimes just Jerusalem].

Christ is often likened to a bridegroom patiently waiting for his bride, referring to the time when his faithful followers are resurrected. The woman shown here is an unfaithful bride, meaning someone who follows after other gods. This unfaithful woman is often represented as an overly bejewelled and painted harlot, an adulterous wife who betrays the one God by courting lifeless gods. These gods are nothing more carved idols who cannot see, nor hear, nor have any understanding [Daniel 5:23].

IN VERSE 10: We are told there are seven kings. First, there are five fallen kings and one that is. John’s contemporaries would know this very easily, these were the Roman emperors that ruled Jerusalem. The sixth Roman emperor, the one that is, was Titus Flavius Vespasian, who began his rule in AD 69, at the height of the siege of Jerusalem. Vespasian is the fourth of four ‘beast’ kings shown in the vision of Daniel 7, where we also reveal Vespasian as one of the first eleven principate rulers who ruled as emperors of Rome. In that list were three whose reigns each ended within the same year, none ruled in Judaea. For this reason there are only seven kings shown in John’s vision because John is speaking only of the Roman emperors who were known in Jerusalem.

John’s vision reveals Vespasian as the beast empire ruler of Daniel 7’s prophecy by setting him apart from any other candidate. He is not our final beast, but one of three in Revelation. John also indicates five preceding kings that have already fallen, shown here.

1. Augustus 27 BC-14 AD
2. Tiberius 14-37 AD
3. Caligula 37-41 AD
4. Claudius 41-54 AD
5. Nero 54-68 AD

John then indicates the seventh emperor who succeeds Vespasian, further validating his vision. He refers to the seventh as: ‘The other is not yet come; and when he cometh, he must continue a short space.’ Did the next emperor John revealed come to power? Yes, he did. Titus Flavius, Vespasian’s son, who succeeded him and died within only two years of his accession.

7. Titus (Flavius Vespasian) 79-81 AD

IN VERSE 11: We are given an odd clue. It says that the beast that was and is not is the eighth, but is of the seven. The beast that is referred to is again Vespasian, but the real beast that John spoke of is this eighth beast. Both the seventh and eighth Caesars were sons of Vespasian. This eighth emperor was another son of Vespasian. Vespasian is a type or foreshadow of the eighth and is named as ‘the beast that was and is not’ because by this time he was already dead. So who is the eighth?  The eighth refers to Domitian, he is the Beast of 666 as we shall prove. He is the only remaining heir of his deceased father and brother. Domitian is also named Titus Flavius as were his brother and father before him, although the cognomen ‘Domitianus’ he took from his wife Domitiana:

8. (Titus Flavius Domitianus) Caesar Domitian 81-96 AD.

The beast that John is referring to, Domitian, is very like the fourth empire beast of Daniel 7. John describes this beast in great detail in Revelation 13. This chapter is crucial to understanding the visions of the beast of 666. The confusing text of Rev 13 is now revealed in full in the article Rev 13: A Beast Revealed. It is important for us to know exactly when the beast of the fourth empire appeared and the characteristics he displayed, because he and the eighth beast are of the same mind. But John is not finished yet. He tells us that the eighth is like the previous seven, but he also tells us of more beasts who spring from these, the horns on their heads.


Who are these horns? Horns in the bible always represent kings. The following verses of Revelation 17, reveal who they are and confirm the correctness of our interpretation.

IN VERSE 12: John describes 10 horns which are 10 kings that have received no kingdom as yet, but they are given power as kings for a short while.

IN VERSE 13: We read that the horns are of the same mind as the beast and lend their strength and power to it.

VERSE 11: Told us their power was for only one hour.

They are ten future Roman emperors, reigning for a few months each and persecuted the Jews, further confirming that the rulerships we have been discussing are from the line of the Caesars.

S. D. HUXLEY Author